Throwback

“Country Strong” is on TV!! I watched it obsessively in the Spring, Summer, and Fall of 2011, before I got sick. It was on the cable movie channels constantly, and I couldn’t get enough of it. As much time as I spent in a recliner, in front of the TV while I was in treatment, I never once saw it on. Tonight I’m watching it for the first time since and, surprisingly, it’s a sense memory for me now. It makes me taste my old life. The “before”. There’s a lot about it that I miss. I miss feeling fearless. I miss the days when I didn’t think about heavy things at least once a day. I miss my belly button. Did you know that once you’ve had enough abdominal surgery, your belly button gets totally obliterated? I didn’t. 

Leave a Reply

